Missoula County Public Schools

Board of Trustees 1105

Membership

An annual election shall be held in accordance with the school laws of Montana for the purpose of electing as many Trustees as is required by law.

Elementary School District No. 1 is an A class district and, as such, has seven Board Members. Each Board Member serves a three year term. Terms are staggered so that three Board members are elected in two successive years and two are elected in the subsequent year. Trustees are elected at the annual school election.

Four high school Trustees are elected in the manner prescribed by Montana school law from other than Elementary District No. 1 within the County High School District together with the seven Trustees of Elementary District No. 1 shall comprise the Board of Trustees of Missoula County Public High School District No. 1. All Trustees shall participate on an equal basis with other members in all business transactions pertaining to the high schools maintained by the District.

Board members, as individuals, have no authority over school affairs, except as provided by law or as authorized by the Board.

Legal References:

20-3-301, MCA	Election and term of office
20-3-302, MCA	Legislative intent to elect less than majority of Trustees
20-3-305, MCA	Candidates and Qualifications
20-3-307, MCA	Qualification and Oath
20-3-341, MCA	Number of Trustee positions in elementary school districts
20-3-351, MCA	Number of Trustee positions in a high school district
20-3-352, MCA	Request and determination number of high school district additional
	Trustee positions
20-3-361, MCA	Joint board of Trustees organization and voting membership
20-3-376, MCA	Conduct of Election
20-7-344, MCA	Nominating of Candidates

Policy History:

§ 2-3-202, MCA

Adopted on: September 10, 1996

Revisions approved on: December 9, 1997

Minor revisions presented to PN&P Committee on June 27, 2007

Meeting Defined

Adopted on: July 10, 2007